Barefootin’

Today’s Song Lyric Sunday Theme was a song about dance/dancing or those words in the title or lyrics. I’ve chosen one of my favorite oldies, Barefootin’ sung by Robert Parker and released in 1966, something about this song just makes me really want to dance and I can’t help but smile every time I hear it! Click here to see a YouTube video of Robert Parker singing this hit.

Barefootin’ Lyrics

Everybody get on your feet,
You make me nervous when you in your seat
Take off your shoes and pat your feet,
We’re doin a dance that can’t be beat

We’re barefootin’, We’re barefootin’,
We’re barefootin’, We’re barefootin’,
Went to a party the other night,
Long Tall Sally was out of sight

Threw way her wig, and her high sneakers too,
She was doin a dance without any shoes
She was barefootin’, She was barefootin’,
She was barefootin’, She was barefootin’,

Hey little gal with the red dress on,
I bet you can barefoot all night long
Take off your shoes and throw them away,
Come back and get them another day

We’re barefootin’, We’re barefootin’,
We’re barefootin’, We’re barefootin’,
Musical interlude
Lil John Henry he said to Sue,

If I was barefootin’ would you barefoot too
Sue told John, “I’m thirty two,
I was barefootin ever since I was two
They was barefootin’, they was barefootin’

They was barefootin”, we barefootin’
We barefootin’ we barefootin’
We barefootin’ we barefootin’
We barefootin’ we barefootin’
We don’t have no shoes on

Songwriters: CARL PERKINS
Barefootin’ lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group
2 comments on “Barefootin’

  1. I am SO a barefoot kind of girl. It’s been a struggle as an adult to always wear shoes to work. I hadn’t heard this song before, but it made me smile and dance in my seat. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

