Barbara Ann

Song Lyric Sunday theme this week –  post a song surrounding a happy memory.

The song is The Beach Boys Barbara Ann which was released in 1965. Lyrics and Song on Youtube

My happy memories involving this song were family road trips in the late 80’s and early 90’s. I always enjoyed road trips growing up despite that fact that my sister usually took up more than her half of the back seat. My sister loved to sing out loud and had a fondness for Oldies, so one time on a road trip we traveled outside the good radio reception zone so it got real quiet in the car and while I was content to stare out the window, she handed my dad her cassette tape and this was the first song on it. From that moment on, every car trip we took my sister and I would forget about how much we disliked each other and sing it together out loud.

Lyrics

Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann (take my hand)
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
You’ve got me rockin’ and a-rollin’
Rockin’ and a-reelin’
Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann

Went to a dance
Looking for romance
Saw Barbara Ann
So I thought I’d take a chance
Barbara Ann, take my hand
You’ve got me rockin’ and a-rollin’
Rockin’ and a reelin’
Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann

Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann (take my hand)
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
You’ve got me rockin’ and a-rollin’
Rockin’ and a reelin’
Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann

Tried Betty Sue
Tried Betty Lou
Tried Mary Sue
But I knew it wouldn’t do
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
You’ve got me rockin’ and a-rollin’
Rockin’ and a reelin’
Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann

Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann (take my hand)
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann
You’ve got me rockin’ and a-rollin’
Rockin’ and a reelin’
Barbara Ann
Ba ba ba ba Barbara Ann

Barbara Ann, Barbara Ann
Barbara Ann, Barbara Ann
Barbara Ann, Barbara Ann

Written by Pete Townshend • Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group
Want to join in on the fun? Visit This Thing Called Life One Word At A Time!
2 comments on “Barbara Ann

Leave a Reply

